2016 Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List

By George Yarberry
EFN National Director
Published: 07/06/2016

Every summer before the football season starts, the National College Football Awards Association comes out with their annual preseason watch lists. Over the next couple of weeks, they will roll out their top candidates for each individual award.

Yesterday, the 22nd Annual Chuck Bednarik Award watch list was released. This award is given to college football’s National Defensive Player of the Year. The award will be announced on December 8 at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN.

Tyler Matakevich, a linebacker from Temple University, won the award in 2015. He is the 7th player of all time that has recorded 100-plus tackles all four years of college. Matakevich was drafted in the 7th round by the Pittsburgh Steelers.

On October 31, the semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced. On November 22, the 3 finalists will be revealed.

Here are the players that have been nominated for receiving the 2016 award.

2016 Bednarik Award Watch List